Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Masamune Shirow "Appleseed" Manga Series

Adapted into an OVA, two feature films, and two video games, the manga series follows the adventures of ESWAT members Deunan Knute and Briareos Hecatonchires in Olympus.

Written by Masamune Shirow, the author/artist of the cyberpunk cult-classic Ghost in the Shell, Appleseed merges elements of cyberpunk and mecha genres with a heavy dosage of politics, philosophy, and sociology.

The series spans four volumes, released between 1985 and 1989.

1985 Book One  The Promethean Challenge 216 pages
1987 Book Two Prometheus Unbound, 192 pages
Book Three The Scales of Prometheus 216 pages
1989 Book Four Appleseed: The Promethean Balance 216 pages

Additional releases
1990 Appleseed Databook
1996 Applesees Hypernotes
2007 Appleseed ID replacement for the discontinued Appleseed Databook


No comments:

Post a Comment